<%@LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" CODEPAGE="65001"%> Dr. Bertelsen

Faculty and Staff

The Communication Studies department is made up of fourteen full-time (tenured/tenure-track) and nine adjunct faculty members. The faculty provide the department with a wide range of academic and professional expertise across the discipline.

What's New

Welcome to the new Website. Please be sure to bookmark our page for easy access in the future.


Featured Student

While we are proud of each of our graduates, we would like to recognize Abigail Morrison, who walked across the stage during the ceremony.  This is especially significant since Abby was told by Doctors in 2006 that she would never walk again. Watch this video youtu.be/y0I_iHGfb6o to learn more about Abby's story.  Congratulations Abby!

Department Faculty

Eric C. Miller, Ph.D.

Eric C. Miller, Ph.D.Eric C. Miller, Ph.D. joined the department in fall 2013 after completing a Ph.D. at the Pennsylvania State University. His dissertation, "Fighting for Freedom: Culture War Rhetoric and the Liberal Tradition," analyzes how leaders of conservative Christian political movements struggle for control of liberal ideographs such as "rights," "liberty," and "freedom." A regular presenter at regional and national conferences, his research is concerned with religious participation in the public sphere. His writing has appeared in Voices of Democracy and Advances in the History of Rhetoric.

Dr. Miller teaches CommStud 103: Public Speaking and CommStud 106: Small Group Communication. He comes to both of these courses with a "civic engagement" focus, encouraging students not just to become better public speakers, but to think seriously about what they want to say. Students who enroll in either will be encouraged to realize their potential both as thinkers and as citizens.