What's New

The BU Department of Communication Studies is officially on social media! Please like our Facebook page and our Twitter page and share with friends who may be interested!

 


Featured
Student

Robert West

I am currently a senior at Bloomsburg University who is graduating this Spring. I am a Communication Studies major, in the Leadership and Public Advocacy area of study. As a Communication Studies Major, I feel that the variety of courses I have completed will continue to benefit me throughout my future endeavors following graduation. In addition to the challenging curriculum of this major, the professors in the department have always encouraged me to work hard both inside and outside of the classroom. I currently hold an executive position as the treasurer of the National Communication Association Student Club. I have received so many valuable connections from being a part of the NCASC, therefore I would definitely recommend future and current students to get involved. I am also currently completing an internship at the Law Office of Christopher Opiel in Wilkes Barre, PA. I am proud to say that the Communication Studies program at Bloomsburg University has successfully prepared me for the professional world.


Featured Student

Holly Davis

I am a senior at Bloomsburg University who is graduating this May. I am a Communication Studies major, in the Organizational Track, with a minor in Human Resources. Majoring in Communication Studies has opened many doors for me. With it being so broad, it has lead me to a multitude of opportunities that helped me grow not only my network, but my professional experience as well. I currently work two jobs- I am a student worker in the Student Activities Office in the KUB and I also intern at McAdam Financial in Center City as a Recruiting intern. McAdam Financial has allowed me to have the experience of working in the corporate world while recruiting for potential Financial Advisors. I also hold an executive position for Communication Day in the National Communication Association Student Club. COMM Day is a one-day research symposium where faculty, professionals, and students can share their work. Putting COMM Day together involves a substantial amount of communication skills, hard work, and organization. Although COMM Day is hard work, I could have not been able to put it on without the help of the members of the NCASC and our wonderful advisor, Dr. Shavonne Shorter!

Contact Us:

Department Office:
1102 McCormick Center, Department of Communication Studies,
Bloomsburg University,
400 E. Second St.,
Bloomsburg PA, 17815.

Department Telephone : (570) 389-4184
Department Fax # (570) 389-3516

Chairperson:
Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Department Secretary:
Karen Diltz, (570) 389-4184, 1102 McCormick Center; e-mail: kdiltz@bloomu.edu

Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty:
Dale Bertelsen, Ph.D. (570) 389-4630, 1114 McCormick Center, e-mail: dbertels@bloomu.edu

Janet Reynolds Bodenman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4575, 1116 McCormick Center, e-mail: jbodenma@bloomu.edu

Erin Brummett, Ph.D. (570) 389-4939, 1139 McCormick Center, ebrummet@bloomu.edu

David Heineman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4188, 1113 McCormick Center,  dheinema@bloomu.edu

Doreen Jowi, Ph.D. (570) 389-4217, 1117 McCormick Center, e-mail: djowi@bloomu.edu

Mary King, Ph.D. (570) 389-4699, McCormick 1112, mking@bloomu.edu

Kai Kuang, Ph.D. (570) 389-4379, 1121 McCormick Center, kkuang@bloomu.edu

Angela La Valley, Ph.D. (570) 389-2786, 1124 McCormick Center, alavalle@bloomu.edu

Eric Miller, Ph.D. (570) 389-5306, 1129 McCormick, e-mail: emiller@bloomu.edu

Jim Petre, Ph.D. (570) 3894192, McCormick 1142, jpetre@bloomu.edu

Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Shavonne Shorter, Ph.D. (570) 389-5423, 1128 McCormick Center, e-mail: sshorter@bloomu.edu

Kara Shultz, Ph.D. (570) 389-4712, 1103 McCormick Center, e-mail: kshultz@bloomu.edu.

Jim Tomlinson, Ph.D. (570) 389-4189, 1115 McCormick Center, e-mail: jtomlins@bloomu.edu

Anna Turnage , Ph.D. (570) 389-4634, 1125 McCormick Center, e-mail: aturnage@bloomu.edu

Adjunct Faculty:

Aarti Arora, M.A. (570) 389-5190, 1141 McCormick, aarora@bloomu.edu

Jon Burr, Ph.D. (570) 389-3986, 1127 McCormick, jburr@bloomu.edu

Rob Carlsen, M.A. (570) 389-3963, 1140 McCormick, e-mail: rcarlsen@bloomu.edu

Justin Foote, M.A. (570) 389-5360, 1123 McCormick, e-mail jfoote@bloomu.edu

Elizabeth Petre, Ph.D. (570) 389-4906, 1126 McCormick. e-mail epetre@bloomu.edu

Brion White, Ph.D. (570) 389-4959. McCormick 1122, e-mail bwhite@bloomu.edu