<%@LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" CODEPAGE="65001"%> Contact Us

Featured
Graduate

Damarah BrownDamarah Brown

In my first semester at Bloomsburg University, I enrolled in Interpersonal Communication and Introduction to Communication and quickly fell in love with the major. The communication studies professors taught me how to analyze how and why people communicate verbally, nonverbally, and in various settings such as organizations. My writing and presentation skills have grown tremendously since taking Communication Studies courses.
Since my freshman year I excelled academically in my courses, and I was also active outside of the classroom. I presented a poster at the 2015 Eastern Communication Association conference entitled “Disclosing Sexual History to Romantic Partners: Do Numbers Really Matter?” I also became an active member of the NCASC (Communication Club) as the public relations chairperson and the president of Lambda Pi Eta (Communication Studies Honor Society). As a recent graduate I am starting my career as a Community and Digital Engagement Specialist for dining services at the University of Delaware. Eventually I plan on enrolling in graduate school in an Integrated Marketing Communication program.


What's New

The BU Department of Communication Studies is officially on social media!

Please like our Facebook page and our Twitter page and share with friends who may be interested!

quad6quad5quad4quad3quad2quad


Featured Graduate

Fatima Feldman

Fatima Feldman

I enrolled as a Communication Studies major because I liked the extensive course options. I have accomplished many things that I am proud of. For instance, making Dean’s List every semester, becoming a member of Lambda Pi Eta, and volunteering my time to help others. However what I will take away from my time at Bloomsburg is the impact my professors had in my personal and academic life. Dr. Bodenman, Dr. Turnage, and Dr. Miller are inspiring individuals who truly care. I do not think I would be the person that I am today without their altruism, encouragement, support, and guidance. I will miss them immensely, but I will forever be grateful for all their academic and life teachings. I will be completing my internship with the Bloomsburg University Foundation Inc. over the summer. This September I will be starting my career at Deloitte LLC, in their Human Capital branch as a Solutions Developer. I want to thank all the incredibly talented and kind professors that have made my college experience so far the best years of my life. I cannot wait to start the next chapter of my life!

Contact Us:

Department Office:
1102 McCormick Center, Department of Communication Studies,
Bloomsburg University,
400 E. Second St.,
Bloomsburg PA, 17815.

Department Telephone : (570) 389-4184
Department Fax # (570) 389-3516

Chairperson:
Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Department Secretary:
Karen Diltz, (570) 389-4184, 1102 McCormick Center; e-mail: kdiltz@bloomu.edu

Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty:
Dale Bertelsen, Ph.D. (570) 389-4630, 1114 McCormick Center, e-mail: dbertels@bloomu.edu

Janet Reynolds Bodenman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4575, 1116 McCormick Center, e-mail: jbodenma@bloomu.edu

Erin Brummett, Ph.D. (570) 389-4939, 1139 McCormick Center, ebrummet@bloomu.edu

David Heineman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4188, 1113 McCormick Center,  dheinema@bloomu.edu

Doreen Jowi, Ph.D. (570) 389-4217, 1117 McCormick Center, e-mail: djowi@bloomu.edu

Mary King, Ph.D. (570) 389-4699, McCormick 1112, mking@bloomu.edu

Kai Kuang, Ph.D. (570) 389-4379, 1121 McCormick Center, kkuang@bloomu.edu

Angela La Valley, Ph.D. (570) 389-2786, 1124 McCormick Center, alavalle@bloomu.edu

Eric Miller, Ph.D. (570) 389-5306, 1129 McCormick, e-mail: emiller@bloomu.edu

Jim Petre, Ph.D. (570) 3894192, McCormick 1142, jpetre@bloomu.edu

Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Shavonne Shorter, Ph.D. (570) 389-5423, 1128 McCormick Center, e-mail: sshorter@bloomu.edu

Kara Shultz, Ph.D. (570) 389-4712, 1103 McCormick Center, e-mail: kshultz@bloomu.edu.

Jim Tomlinson, Ph.D. (570) 389-4189, 1115 McCormick Center, e-mail: jtomlins@bloomu.edu

Anna Turnage, Ph.D. (570) 389-4634, 1125 McCormick Center, e-mail: aturnage@bloomu.edu

Adjunct Faculty:

Aarti Arora, M.A. (570) 389-5190, 1141 McCormick, aarora@bloomu.edu

Jon Burr, Ph.D. (570) 389-3986, 1127 McCormick, jburr@bloomu.edu

Rob Carlsen, M.A. (570) 389-3963, 1140 McCormick, e-mail: rcarlsen@bloomu.edu

Justin Foote, M.A. (570) 389-5360, 1123 McCormick, e-mail jfoote@bloomu.edu

Elizabeth Petre, Ph.D. (570) 389-4906, 1126 McCormick. e-mail epetre@bloomu.edu

Brion White, Ph.D. (570) 389-4959. McCormick 1122, e-mail bwhite@bloomu.edu