What's New

Congrats to Kim Hollister - The BU Student Employee of the Year! Kim, a senior chemistry major who works as an office assistant for the Communication Studies Department, won a $500 scholarship funded through the University Foundation.


Please see our Communication Studies Newsletters:


The BU Department of Communication Studies is officially on social media! Please like our Facebook page and our Twitter page and share with friends who may be interested!

 


Featured
Student

Facia Nyego Sirleaf
Beginning my undergraduate career as an undeclared student was the best decision I could have ever made. It allowed me the opportunity to fall in love with Anthropology, Gender Studies, and Communication Studies. Not only has this area of study enhanced the love I have for Anthropology and gender and ethnicity, it has given me the confidence I need to thrive as a public speaker and critical thinker. Through classes such as Gender issues in Communication, I was able to develop a passion for analyzing gender as well as ethnicity in different cultural contexts, specifically African culture. After learning tools to effectively communicate in professional settings and volunteering for two semesters, I interned at The Women’s Resource Center on campus and worked as a teaching assistant in the Communication Studies department. I have also won the Undergraduate Research Scholarship and Creative Activities Grant (U.R.S.C.A.), which I used to conduct research in Fez, Morocco for my project titled I Like the Color: Race and Ethnicity in Morocco.  I have also presented research at a Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE) conference titled Romance Never Dies: An Ethnographic Study of Romance Novel Enthusiasts which focused on an application of literary anthropology.
I believe that Communication Studies has prepared me for graduate school as well helping me become a well-grounded scholar. Public speaking, gender issues in communication, and intercultural communication prepared me the most with being able to engage with audiences and articulate the love I have for my areas of study. With everything I have learned I plan to complete graduate studies by combining my love for Communication and African Studies to one day be able to work for the United Nations.

Featured Graduate

Boe Kline

I have always wanted to speak publically as a career, especially on topics of inspiration and purpose. Being part of the Communication Studies program has helped me to “know my audience,” their needs, as well as equipped me with strategies to best address these needs. I have used these strategies often, as I have been asked to speak on nearly 20 occasions, with audiences ranging from at-risk students like myself, to clubs, students and faculty at a national conference, as well as women’s issues. I plan to continue speaking, studying purpose, and creating ways to help others find it.

Contact Us:

Department Address:
1102 McCormick Center,
Department of Communication Studies,
Bloomsburg University,
400 E. Second St.,
Bloomsburg, PA 17815.

Department Telephone : (570) 389-4184
Department Fax # (570) 389-3516

Chairperson:
Kara Shultz, Ph.D. (570) 389-4712, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: kshultz@bloomu.edu

Department Secretary:
Rachel Shaffer, (570) 389-4184, 1102 McCormick Center; e-mail: rshaffer@bloomu.edu

Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty:
Dale Bertelsen, Ph.D. (570) 389-4630, 1114 McCormick Center, e-mail: dbertels@bloomu.edu

Janet Reynolds Bodenman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4575, 1103 McCormick Center, e-mail: jbodenma@bloomu.edu

Erin Brummett, Ph.D. (570) 389-4939, 1139 McCormick Center, ebrummet@bloomu.edu

Skye Chernicky-Karcher, Ph.D. (570) 389-4959, 1124 McCormick Center, schernichk@bloomu.edu

Robert Green, Ph.D. (570) 389-5360, 1123 McCormick Center, rgreen@bloomu.edu

David Heineman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4188, 1113 McCormick Center,  dheinema@bloomu.edu

Paula Hopeck, Ph.D. (570) 389-3986, 1127 McCormick Center, phopeck@bloomu.edu

Shuzhen Huang, Ph.D. (570) 389-5190, 1141 McCormick Center, shuang@bloomu.edu

Doreen Jowi, Ph.D. (570) 389-4217, 1117 McCormick Center, e-mail: djowi@bloomu.edu

Mary King, Ph.D. (570) 389-4699, McCormick 1112, mking@bloomu.edu

Kai Kuang, Ph.D. (570) 389-4379, 1121 McCormick Center, kkuang@bloomu.edu

Angela La Valley, Ph.D. (570) 389-2786, 1124 McCormick Center, alavalle@bloomu.edu

Eric Miller, Ph.D. (570) 389-5306, 1129 McCormick, e-mail: emiller@bloomu.edu

Elizabeth Petre, Ph.D. (570) 389-4906, 1126 McCormick. e-mail epetre@bloomu.edu

Jim Petre, Ph.D. (570) 3894192, McCormick 1142, jpetre@bloomu.edu

Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1116 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Shavonne Shorter, Ph.D. (570) 389-5423, 1128 McCormick Center, e-mail: sshorter@bloomu.edu

Kara Shultz, Ph.D. (570) 389-4712, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: kshultz@bloomu.edu.

Anna Turnage, Ph.D. (570) 389-4634, 1125 McCormick Center, e-mail: aturnage@bloomu.edu

Ningxin Wang, Ph.D. (570) 389-3963, 1140 McCormick Center, e-mail: nwang@bloomu.edu