<%@LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" CODEPAGE="65001"%> Contact Us

Featured
Graduate

Damarah BrownDamarah Brown

In my first semester at Bloomsburg University, I enrolled in Interpersonal Communication and Introduction to Communication and quickly fell in love with the major. The communication studies professors taught me how to analyze how and why people communicate verbally, nonverbally, and in various settings such as organizations. My writing and presentation skills have grown tremendously since taking Communication Studies courses.
Since my freshman year I excelled academically in my courses, and I was also active outside of the classroom. I presented a poster at the 2015 Eastern Communication Association conference entitled “Disclosing Sexual History to Romantic Partners: Do Numbers Really Matter?” I also became an active member of the NCASC (Communication Club) as the public relations chairperson and the president of Lambda Pi Eta (Communication Studies Honor Society). As a recent graduate I am starting my career as a Community and Digital Engagement Specialist for dining services at the University of Delaware. Eventually I plan on enrolling in graduate school in an Integrated Marketing Communication program.


What's New

The BU Department of Communication Studies is officially on social media!

Please like our Facebook page and our Twitter page and share with friends who may be interested!

quad6quad5quad4quad3quad2quad


Featured Graduate

Caitlin FlynnCaitlin Flynn

I majored in Communication Studies because I was not exactly sure of my career goals. I was interested in public relations and marketing along with television production and broadcasting. Upon applying to BU, I read about Communication Studies and thought it was a good fit for me because of the variety of concentrations it offered. From this experience, I am taking away skills that will transfer into the workplace, such as public speaking, working effectively with group members, and time management skills. After taking classes in the organizational communication area of concentration, I concluded I wanted to pursue a career in sales upon graduating. During my time at Bloomsburg, I was inducted into the Communication Studies Honor Society, Lambda Pi Eta, and was also named Vice President of our chapter. During my time on the executive board, I became involved with the community as well as gained experience with organizing events. After graduation, I will be pursuing a career in Inside Sales for UPS in Greenville, SC. I feel that Bloomsburg University has prepared me for this next chapter and I am very excited for the journey.

Contact Us:

Department Office:
1102 McCormick Center, Department of Communication Studies,
Bloomsburg University,
400 E. Second St.,
Bloomsburg PA, 17815.

Department Telephone : (570) 389-4184
Department Fax # (570) 389-3516

Chairperson:
Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Department Secretary:
Karen Diltz, (570) 389-4184, 1102 McCormick Center; e-mail: kdiltz@bloomu.edu

Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty:
Dale Bertelsen, Ph.D. (570) 389-4630, 1114 McCormick Center, e-mail: dbertels@bloomu.edu

Janet Reynolds Bodenman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4575, 1116 McCormick Center, e-mail: jbodenma@bloomu.edu

Erin Brummett, Ph.D. (570) 389-4939, 1139 McCormick Center, ebrummet@bloomu.edu

David Heineman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4188, 1113 McCormick Center,  dheinema@bloomu.edu

Doreen Jowi, Ph.D. (570) 389-4217, 1117 McCormick Center, e-mail: djowi@bloomu.edu

Mary King, Ph.D. (570) 389-4699, McCormick 1112, mking@bloomu.edu

Kai Kuang, Ph.D. (570) 389-4379, 1121 McCormick Center, kkuang@bloomu.edu

Angela La Valley, Ph.D. (570) 389-2786, 1124 McCormick Center, alavalle@bloomu.edu

Eric Miller, Ph.D. (570) 389-5306, 1129 McCormick, e-mail: emiller@bloomu.edu

Jim Petre, Ph.D. (570) 3894192, McCormick 1142, jpetre@bloomu.edu

Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Shavonne Shorter, Ph.D. (570) 389-5423, 1128 McCormick Center, e-mail: sshorter@bloomu.edu

Kara Shultz, Ph.D. (570) 389-4712, 1103 McCormick Center, e-mail: kshultz@bloomu.edu.

Jim Tomlinson, Ph.D. (570) 389-4189, 1115 McCormick Center, e-mail: jtomlins@bloomu.edu

Anna Turnage, Ph.D. (570) 389-4634, 1125 McCormick Center, e-mail: aturnage@bloomu.edu

Adjunct Faculty:

Aarti Arora, (570) 389-5190, 1141 McCormick, aarora@bloomu.edu

Ruth Beerman, Ph.D., (570) 389-3911, 1217 McCormick, e-mail rbeerman@bloomu.edu.

David Bradbury, Ph.D. (570) 389-5360, 1123 McCormick, e-mail: dbradbur@bloomu.edu

David Hanley-Tejeda, Ph.D. (570) 389-3831, 1226 McCormick, e-mail dhtejeda@bloomu.edu

Elizabeth Petre, Ph.D. (570) 389-4906, 1126 McCormick. e-mail epetre@bloomu.edu

Philip Rippke, M.A. (570) 389-3910. McCormick 1219, e-mail prippke@bloomu.edu

Brion White, Ph.D. (570) 389-4959. McCormick 1122, e-mail bwhite@bloomu.edu