What's New

The BU Department of Communication Studies is officially on social media! Please like our Facebook page and our Twitter page and share with friends who may be interested!

 


Featured
Student

Robert West

I am currently a senior at Bloomsburg University who is graduating this Spring. I am a Communication Studies major, in the Leadership and Public Advocacy area of study. As a Communication Studies Major, I feel that the variety of courses I have completed will continue to benefit me throughout my future endeavors following graduation. In addition to the challenging curriculum of this major, the professors in the department have always encouraged me to work hard both inside and outside of the classroom. I currently hold an executive position as the treasurer of the National Communication Association Student Club. I have received so many valuable connections from being a part of the NCASC, therefore I would definitely recommend future and current students to get involved. I am also currently completing an internship at the Law Office of Christopher Opiel in Wilkes Barre, PA. I am proud to say that the Communication Studies program at Bloomsburg University has successfully prepared me for the professional world.


Featured Graduate

Kate Armstrong

I will be graduating from Bloomsburg University with a degree in Communication Studies and a concentration in Human Resources. As I prepare to graduate, I feel a mixture of emotions- excited, nervous, eager, but most of all, prepared and confident. I am proud to announce that starting in the Fall of 2017, I will begin the Master of Science in Instructional Technology graduate program here at Bloomsburg. The professors, mentors, skills, and opportunities that the Communication Studies Department at BU has given me is unparalleled. In addition to completing 3 internships during my undergraduate career, I am also the President of the National Communication Association Student Club (NCASC) and a Husky Ambassador. Being involved with the NCASC is one of my favorite memories from the last 4 years; From the friends I made to the networking opportunities I had, and the leadership skills I learned from my Executive Board and Advisor Dr. Shavonne Shorter, I never would have had any of these experiences without NCASC. I strongly encourage any Communication Studies student to get involved in NCASC!

Contact Us:

Department Office:
1102 McCormick Center, Department of Communication Studies,
Bloomsburg University,
400 E. Second St.,
Bloomsburg PA, 17815.

Department Telephone : (570) 389-4184
Department Fax # (570) 389-3516

Chairperson:
Kara Shultz, Ph.D. (570) 389-4712, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: kshultz@bloomu.edu

Department Secretary:
Karen Diltz, (570) 389-4184, 1102 McCormick Center; e-mail: kdiltz@bloomu.edu

Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty:
Dale Bertelsen, Ph.D. (570) 389-4630, 1114 McCormick Center, e-mail: dbertels@bloomu.edu

Janet Reynolds Bodenman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4575, 1103 McCormick Center, e-mail: jbodenma@bloomu.edu

Erin Brummett, Ph.D. (570) 389-4939, 1139 McCormick Center, ebrummet@bloomu.edu

David Heineman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4188, 1113 McCormick Center,  dheinema@bloomu.edu

Doreen Jowi, Ph.D. (570) 389-4217, 1117 McCormick Center, e-mail: djowi@bloomu.edu

Mary King, Ph.D. (570) 389-4699, McCormick 1112, mking@bloomu.edu

Kai Kuang, Ph.D. (570) 389-4379, 1121 McCormick Center, kkuang@bloomu.edu

Angela La Valley, Ph.D. (570) 389-2786, 1124 McCormick Center, alavalle@bloomu.edu

Eric Miller, Ph.D. (570) 389-5306, 1129 McCormick, e-mail: emiller@bloomu.edu

Elizabeth Petre, Ph.D. (570) 389-4906, 1126 McCormick. e-mail epetre@bloomu.edu

Jim Petre, Ph.D. (570) 3894192, McCormick 1142, jpetre@bloomu.edu

Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1116 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Shavonne Shorter, Ph.D. (570) 389-5423, 1128 McCormick Center, e-mail: sshorter@bloomu.edu

Kara Shultz, Ph.D. (570) 389-4712, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: kshultz@bloomu.edu.

Anna Turnage , Ph.D. (570) 389-4634, 1125 McCormick Center, e-mail: aturnage@bloomu.edu