What's New

The BU Department of Communication Studies is officially on social media!

Please like our Facebook page and our Twitter page and share with friends who may be interested!



Deosha AdamsDeosha Adams

I am a graduating Communication Studies major in the Interpersonal Communication Area of Concentration. During my years as a Communication Studies major, I was the secretary of the Helping Others Club on campus (HOC), where I was responsible for sending out important emails, taking attendance at weekly meetings, and keeping track of member’s community service hours. After leaving the Helping Others Club I became the vice president of the National Communication Association Students Club (NCASC) where I presided over weekly meetings, worked closely with the president and helped executive members when needed. This past summer I interned for a Human Resource firm called Biagio Inc. At Biagio, I received training in database and business management, the interview process, new hire paperwork, advertising and job posting. Currently, I am a student staff worker at the Center for Leadership and Engagement (CLE) office on campus. This position has helped me become involved in several community service opportunities and provided insight on what it really means to be a leader.

Featured Student

Maggie Temmel

During this past summer, I was the Social and Digital Marketing Intern for Ditech Financial in Fort Washington, PA. During the course of my internship, I assisted with the creation of digital content; including social media posts, campaigns, images, and blogs. I also performed research and reported analytics across all social media platforms. In addition to scheduling and monitoring social media, I was trained to respond to customer concerns and questions. One of my largest projects was creating webpages through WordPress for Home Loan Specialists and Ditech Racing. Most importantly, I have learned the value of networking and have been able to apply my knowledge and skills from my Communication Studies classes at BU. After my internship ended, Ditech offered me a part time job while completing the rest of my degree online. I will be graduating this December.

Contact Us:

Department Office:
1102 McCormick Center, Department of Communication Studies,
Bloomsburg University,
400 E. Second St.,
Bloomsburg PA, 17815.

Department Telephone : (570) 389-4184
Department Fax # (570) 389-3516

Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Department Secretary:
Karen Diltz, (570) 389-4184, 1102 McCormick Center; e-mail: kdiltz@bloomu.edu

Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty:
Dale Bertelsen, Ph.D. (570) 389-4630, 1114 McCormick Center, e-mail: dbertels@bloomu.edu

Janet Reynolds Bodenman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4575, 1116 McCormick Center, e-mail: jbodenma@bloomu.edu

Erin Brummett, Ph.D. (570) 389-4939, 1139 McCormick Center, ebrummet@bloomu.edu

David Heineman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4188, 1113 McCormick Center,  dheinema@bloomu.edu

Doreen Jowi, Ph.D. (570) 389-4217, 1117 McCormick Center, e-mail: djowi@bloomu.edu

Mary King, Ph.D. (570) 389-4699, McCormick 1112, mking@bloomu.edu

Kai Kuang, Ph.D. (570) 389-4379, 1121 McCormick Center, kkuang@bloomu.edu

Angela La Valley, Ph.D. (570) 389-2786, 1124 McCormick Center, alavalle@bloomu.edu

Eric Miller, Ph.D. (570) 389-5306, 1129 McCormick, e-mail: emiller@bloomu.edu

Jim Petre, Ph.D. (570) 3894192, McCormick 1142, jpetre@bloomu.edu

Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Shavonne Shorter, Ph.D. (570) 389-5423, 1128 McCormick Center, e-mail: sshorter@bloomu.edu

Kara Shultz, Ph.D. (570) 389-4712, 1103 McCormick Center, e-mail: kshultz@bloomu.edu.

Jim Tomlinson, Ph.D. (570) 389-4189, 1115 McCormick Center, e-mail: jtomlins@bloomu.edu

Anna Turnage , Ph.D. (570) 389-4634, 1125 McCormick Center, e-mail: aturnage@bloomu.edu

Adjunct Faculty:

Aarti Arora, M.A. (570) 389-5190, 1141 McCormick, aarora@bloomu.edu

Jon Burr, Ph.D. (570) 389-3986, 1127 McCormick, jburr@bloomu.edu

Rob Carlsen, M.A. (570) 389-3963, 1140 McCormick, e-mail: rcarlsen@bloomu.edu

Justin Foote, M.A. (570) 389-5360, 1123 McCormick, e-mail jfoote@bloomu.edu

Elizabeth Petre, Ph.D. (570) 389-4906, 1126 McCormick. e-mail epetre@bloomu.edu

Brion White, Ph.D. (570) 389-4959. McCormick 1122, e-mail bwhite@bloomu.edu