Featured Intern

Molly Payne
Molly Payne

This summer I had the opportunity to work with the Philadelphia Union, a Major League Soccer team. This was an incredible experience for me since I am pursuing a career in the professional sports industry. The internship also helped enhance my communication skills that I have gained at Bloomsburg University. During the internship, I assisted with donation requests, soccer clinics, grassroots marketing, and other promotional events. I also networked with professionals and athletes from all over the country and from around the world. Changing my major to Communication Studies during my sophomore year was one of the best decisions that I have ever made. My internship experience allowed me to apply my skills and knowledge from the classroom into a real world environment.

What's New

Welcome to the new Website. Please be sure to bookmark our page for easy access in the future.


Featured Alumna

Kelly Weidner
Kelly Weidner
, class of 2013 - BA Communication Studies - Interpersonal Communication Area of Concentration. Kelly served as a social media intern with Warrior Canine Connection, Brookeville, MD. A non-profit organization breeding service dogs for veterans with combat related injuries. Upon graduating Kelly pursued employment opportunities specifically focused on supporting the war-fighter. Now a defense contractor, Kelly is currently tasked as a Scientific Engineering and Technical Assistant (SETA) for the Contracts Management Office (CMO) of the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA). Some of the work involves drafting modifications, memos, financial reconciliation, invention reporting, and contract closeout. Work is done both with University and Industry; folks like Caltech, MIT, Boston Dynamics, and Lockheed Martin. You may have heard of DARPA for their invention of the internet or Apple’s “Siri.” Kelly aspires to become a warranted Contracting Officer for the Department of Defense.

Contact Us:

Department Office:
1102 McCormick Center, Department of Communication Studies,
Bloomsburg University,
400 E. Second St.,
Bloomsburg PA, 17815.

Department Telephone : (570) 389-4184
Department Fax # (570) 389-3516

Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Department Secretary:
Karen Diltz, (570) 389-4184, 1103 McCormick Center; e-mail: kdiltz@bloomu.edu

Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty:
Dale Bertelsen, Ph.D. (570) 389-4630, 1114 McCormick Center, e-mail: dbertels@bloomu.edu

Janet Reynolds Bodenman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4575, 1116 McCormick Center, e-mail: jbodenma@bloomu.edu

Erin Brummett, Ph.D. (570) 389-4939, 1139 McCormick Center, ebrummet@bloomu.edu

David Heineman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4188, 1113 McCormick Center,  dheinema@bloomu.edu

Doreen Jowi, Ph.D. (570) 389-4217, 1117 McCormick Center, e-mail: djowi@bloomu.edu

Mary King, Ph.D. (570) 389-4699, McCormick 1112, mking@bloomu.edu

Kai Kuang, Ph.D. (570) 389-4379, 1121 McCormick Center, kkuang@bloomu.edu

Angela La Valley, Ph.D. (570) 389-2786, 1124 McCormick Center, alavalle@bloomu.edu

Eric Miller, Ph.D. (570) 389-5306, 1129 McCormick, e-mail: emiller@bloomu.edu

Jim Petre, Ph.D. (570) 3894192, McCormick 1142, jpetre@bloomu.edu

Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Shavonne Shorter, Ph.D. (570) 389-5423, 1128 McCormick Center, e-mail: sshorter@bloomu.edu

Kara Shultz, Ph.D. (570) 389-4712, 1103 McCormick Center, e-mail: kshultz@bloomu.edu.

Jim Tomlinson, Ph.D. (570) 389-4189, 1115 McCormick Center, e-mail: jtomlins@bloomu.edu

Anna Turnage, Ph.D. (570) 389-4634, 1125 McCormick Center, e-mail: aturnage@bloomu.edu

Adjunct Faculty:

Aarti Arora, (570) 389-5190, 1141 McCormick, aarora@bloomu.edu

Ruth Beerman, Ph.D., (570) 389-3911, 1217 McCormick, e-mail rbeerman@bloomu.edu.

David Bradbury, Ph.D. (570) 389-5360, 1123 McCormick, e-mail: dbradbur@bloomu.edu

David Hanley-Tejeda, Ph.D. (570) 389-3831, 1226 McCormick, e-mail dhtejeda@bloomu.edu

Elizabeth Petre, Ph.D. (570) 389-4906, 1126 McCormick. e-mail epetre@bloomu.edu

Edward Rabinowitz, M.A. (Off campus) E-mail erabinow@bloomu.edu

Philip Rippke, M.A. (570) 389-3910. McCormick 1219, e-mail prippke@bloomu.edu

Brion White, Ph.D. (570) 389-4959. McCormick 1122, e-mail bwhite@bloomu.edu