What's New:

The Bloomsburg University Xi Omega chapter of Lambda Pi Eta, the National Communication Honor Society, has been named the 2019 Chapter of the Year by the National Communication Association.


 

Congrats to Communication Studies student Kyle Bower for serving as APSCUF’s summer government-relations and communications intern.

 

 

 

Congrats to The National Communication Association Student Club (NCASC)! NCASC was selected as the 2018 Bloomsburg University Student Organization of the Year for their outstanding work in the areas of leadership, programming, and service.


Please see our Communication Studies Newsletters:


The BU Department of Communication Studies is officially on social media! Please like our Facebook page and our Twitter page and share with friends who may be interested!

 




Featured Student

Kynslee Shepherd
Just a little under four years ago, I received my acceptance letter from Bloomsburg University. Within the past month I received a second acceptance letter from Belmont University congratulating and welcoming me to their Master of Sport Administration program. This acceptance could have not been made possible without the foundation that Bloomsburg University has given me, and in part I owe a huge thank you to the Communication Studies Department. When I was a freshman, I had not a clue in the world what I wanted to pursue professionally, and I bounced between a few different majors until finally declaring Communication Studies. The foundation and guidance that classes and faculty have given me are abundantly appreciated. I see the skills and knowledge that I have developed being a crucial part leading into this next step of my education. After I complete graduate school, I hope to find my place in the professional sports world, hopefully in an Operations position or Fan Development. My goal is to become to become an Athletic Director for a powerhouse Division I University.



Contact Us:

Department Address:
1102 McCormick Center,
Department of Communication Studies,
Bloomsburg University,
400 E. Second St.,
Bloomsburg, PA 17815.

Department Telephone : (570) 389-4184
Department Fax # (570) 389-3516

Chairperson:
Angela La Valley, Ph.D. (570) 389-2786, 1124 McCormick Center, alavalle@bloomu.edu

Department Secretary:
Marla Davis, (570) 389-4184, 1102 McCormick Center. mdavis@bloomu.edu

Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty:  

Janet Reynolds Bodenman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4575, 1103 McCormick Center, e-mail: jbodenma@bloomu.edu

Erin Brummett, Ph.D. (570) 389-4939, 1139 McCormick Center, ebrummet@bloomu.edu

Skye Chernicky-Karcher, Ph.D. (570) 389-4959, 1124 McCormick Center, schernichk@bloomu.edu

Robert Green, Ph.D. (570) 389-5360, 1123 McCormick Center, rgreen@bloomu.edu

David Heineman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4188, 1113 McCormick Center,  dheinema@bloomu.edu

Paula Hopeck, Ph.D. (570) 389-3986, 1127 McCormick Center, phopeck@bloomu.edu

Shuzhen Huang, Ph.D. (570) 389-5190, 1141 McCormick Center, shuang@bloomu.edu

Doreen Jowi, Ph.D. (570) 389-4217, 1117 McCormick Center, e-mail: djowi@bloomu.edu

Mary King, Ph.D. (570) 389-4699, McCormick 1112, mking@bloomu.edu

Kai Kuang, Ph.D. (570) 389-4379, 1121 McCormick Center, kkuang@bloomu.edu

Angela La Valley, Ph.D. (570) 389-2786, 1124 McCormick Center, alavalle@bloomu.edu

Eric Miller, Ph.D. (570) 389-5306, 1129 McCormick, e-mail: emiller@bloomu.edu

Elizabeth Petre, Ph.D. (570) 389-4906, 1126 McCormick. e-mail epetre@bloomu.edu

Jim Petre, Ph.D. (570) 3894192, McCormick 1142, jpetre@bloomu.edu

Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1116 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Shavonne Shorter, Ph.D. (570) 389-5423, 1128 McCormick Center, e-mail: sshorter@bloomu.edu

Kara Shultz, Ph.D. (570) 389-4712, Office TBA, e-mail: kshultz@bloomu.edu.

Anna Turnage, Ph.D. (570) 389-4634, 1125 McCormick Center, e-mail: aturnage@bloomu.edu