<%@LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" CODEPAGE="65001"%> Contact Us

Featured
Graduating Senior

Ashley GildnerAshley Gildner

I am a graduating senior with a Concentration in Organizational Communication. I have recently received a job offer as an Executive Team Leader at Target!! In this position, I will be acting as a leader on duty for the store; assisting in the recruiting and hiring process; and training new employees. My position as the Area Coordinator in the BU Kehr Union, as well as my Human Resource internship at PeopleShare, has prepared me the most for my new career. Courses such as Interviewing, Organizational Communication Theory and Communication Training in Organizations have also helped me with my career path. If it wasn’t for my courses in the major, involvement on campus, and my professors’ help, I would not be where I am today. A special thanks to Dr. Turnage and Dr. Bodenman for guiding me in all the right directions. Without your guidance I would not have achieved so much. For future Communication Majors, never stop setting goals and reaching your fullest potential! You can do anything you set your mind to, just BU!


What's New

The BU Department of Communication Studies is officially on social media!

Please like our Facebook page and our Twitter page and share with friends who may be interested!

quad6quad5quad4quad3quad2quad


Featured Student

Karli Miiler

Karli Miller

One thing I’ve learned this semester in the Comm. Department is to not underestimate my abilities! What began as a paper in Dr. La Valley’s Family Communication course has developed into my Honors Program Thesis and has only grown since. Recently, I presented my research “Queering Marital Typologies: A Modern Recreation of Fitzpatrick’s Typological Approach Using Queer Couples” at the Eastern Communication Association annual conference in Baltimore, where I received recognition for having a Top 5 Paper in the Undergraduate Scholar’s Conference. I also will be presenting my research in Lambda Pi Eta's (the Communication Studies Honor Society) Top Scholarship competition (for the second year in a row!).

Contact Us:

Department Office:
1102 McCormick Center, Department of Communication Studies,
Bloomsburg University,
400 E. Second St.,
Bloomsburg PA, 17815.

Department Telephone : (570) 389-4184
Department Fax # (570) 389-3516

Chairperson:
Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Department Secretary:
Karen Diltz, (570) 389-4184, 1102 McCormick Center; e-mail: kdiltz@bloomu.edu

Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty:
Dale Bertelsen, Ph.D. (570) 389-4630, 1114 McCormick Center, e-mail: dbertels@bloomu.edu

Janet Reynolds Bodenman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4575, 1116 McCormick Center, e-mail: jbodenma@bloomu.edu

Erin Brummett, Ph.D. (570) 389-4939, 1139 McCormick Center, ebrummet@bloomu.edu

David Heineman, Ph.D. (570) 389-4188, 1113 McCormick Center,  dheinema@bloomu.edu

Doreen Jowi, Ph.D. (570) 389-4217, 1117 McCormick Center, e-mail: djowi@bloomu.edu

Mary King, Ph.D. (570) 389-4699, McCormick 1112, mking@bloomu.edu

Kai Kuang, Ph.D. (570) 389-4379, 1121 McCormick Center, kkuang@bloomu.edu

Angela La Valley, Ph.D. (570) 389-2786, 1124 McCormick Center, alavalle@bloomu.edu

Eric Miller, Ph.D. (570) 389-5306, 1129 McCormick, e-mail: emiller@bloomu.edu

Jim Petre, Ph.D. (570) 3894192, McCormick 1142, jpetre@bloomu.edu

Tim Rumbough, Ph.D. (570) 389-4897, 1105 McCormick Center, e-mail: trumboug@bloomu.edu

Shavonne Shorter, Ph.D. (570) 389-5423, 1128 McCormick Center, e-mail: sshorter@bloomu.edu

Kara Shultz, Ph.D. (570) 389-4712, 1103 McCormick Center, e-mail: kshultz@bloomu.edu.

Jim Tomlinson, Ph.D. (570) 389-4189, 1115 McCormick Center, e-mail: jtomlins@bloomu.edu

Anna Turnage, Ph.D. (570) 389-4634, 1125 McCormick Center, e-mail: aturnage@bloomu.edu

Adjunct Faculty:

Aarti Arora, (570) 389-5190, 1141 McCormick, aarora@bloomu.edu

Ruth Beerman, Ph.D., (570) 389-3911, 1217 McCormick, e-mail rbeerman@bloomu.edu.

David Bradbury, Ph.D. (570) 389-5360, 1123 McCormick, e-mail: dbradbur@bloomu.edu

David Hanley-Tejeda, Ph.D. (570) 389-3831, 1226 McCormick, e-mail dhtejeda@bloomu.edu

Elizabeth Petre, Ph.D. (570) 389-4906, 1126 McCormick. e-mail epetre@bloomu.edu

Philip Rippke, M.A. (570) 389-3910. McCormick 1219, e-mail prippke@bloomu.edu

Brion White, Ph.D. (570) 389-4959. McCormick 1122, e-mail bwhite@bloomu.edu